My Date With An American Hero

March 6, 2014

Last night I had dinner with Mike Steinmetz.  If you don’t know Mike Steinmetz, get to know him!  He was an understudy for the off-broadway sensation, Bad Jews, he was Mr. FiOS and he was in the film Not Fade Away featuring James Gandolfini.  Mike’s a big deal.

Over a year ago I won a date with Mike Steinmetz at the Pipeline Theater Company Gala.  I was ecstatic (like Meg Ryan faking an orgasm in “When Harry Met Sally”) and it took one year to make last night happen.  Wednesday, March 5th, 2014 will live in my memory forever, thank you Mike.  This is how it went down.

Image
 Mike was 17 minutes late, but that’s ok.  I sort of felt like Meg Ryan from “You’ve Got Mail”!  I ordered a Thai Iced Tea and chatted up our waitress, Sue, who was equally as excited to see my date as I was.  In my 17 minute time alone, I kinda really missed Mike.  I wanted him to be there, and yeah, I’ll admit it, I wasn’t sure he was gonna show up.  But…as the clock hit 5:17- in walked Mr. Steinmetz.  I have to say, it was electrifying to see him.
Image

We hadn’t seen each other in almost a year (since I bought the date) and we had a lot of catching up to do.  Mike was really cool.  I ordered him a Thai Iced Tea and he drank it.  Then we looked at the menu.  Ohhh- I had picked out some good munchies for us to snack on as we talked about where our lives were going.  He told me about his travels, his commercial success and his time working at Bad Jews, the conversation was really good!
Image

You know- when you find your true friends in this world, you gotta stay close to them.  If you have to buy a date with them at a silent auction to hang out- DO IT!  We ordered spinach and pork dumplings, edamame with salt and our main courses.  Mike ordered Steak (duh!) and I order miso-glazed salmon.  I also order another Thai Iced Tea (Scandalous!)
Image

Yeah, we ordered a lot of food and we ate like kings, but we kinda earned it.  Mike told me about a new flame in his life which was cool to hear that he’s finally settling down. Mike is a ladies man (that’s why they call him THE GOOSE).  We talked about the struggle of being an actor in New York.  Nothing is certain, we’re always kinda waiting.  But I told Mike, let’s not wait- let’s create!  We’re in control of our own destiny- fate and $35 from my parents “emergency” credit card brought us together and I was so so happy for that.
Image

It was hard to leave Mike.  When you re-unite with one of your best friends after almost a year, you don’t want it to end.  I really hope we get to meet again in the next year and have dinner.  I’m also really excited for the Pipeline Theater Company Gala on March 27th at The Park, there’s a silent auction and rumor has it there may be a date with Daniel Johnson on the table (finger’s crossed!)  Ok, that’s all from me.  I love you Mike.

Leave a Reply

